Need help with tests for thyroid and adrenal fatigue

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help with tests for thyroid and adrenal fatigue

I need to get tests done for my thyroid and adrenal fatigue. I'm going to be ordering them myself, from labs online but I'm not sure exactly what it is that I need to get first. I've been looking around and different people suggest different tests, and the tests that I see available have so many different options. I don't want to overpay for stuff that I don't need. I don't have insurance, I'm a college student living on student loans. I need to get whatever is going on with me worked out though or else I'm not going to be able to be a student much longer.

Does anyone who's dealt with the test process know which tests I should get first? The ones that are the most important? Once I get those back, I'll go from there in terms of what other tests might need to be done, and whether or not I need to find a health care practitioner to help me.

Thanks for any help. Sorry if I asked this question before. I just recently got my disbursement and my memory has been absolutely shot lately.

I don't really know what is available. I just want to give you some support because I have the same adrenal and thyroid issues.

I had a saliva cortisol test awile back through Diagnos-techs or something like that. I had it done through my doctor's office, though ($79).

Comment

Tough one. I did the cortisol test in the mail through ZRT. I believe it's $120 if you pay for it yourself.

As for thyroid tests, I'd recommend TSH, T4, T3, Free T3, Free T4, Reverse T3 and antibodies testing. Honestly I don't know how much that costs.

Here are a couple of articles about testing without a doctor:

http://thyroid.about.com/cs/testsforthyroid/a/nodoc.htm

http://thyroid.about.com/od/getteste...elftesting.htm