I may quit primal. Need medical advice

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I may quit primal. Need medical advice

I have been eating primal for 6 months, and the last 3 months more seriously. I have been having painful nocturnal calf cramps for the last 2 months. I have done lots of things to try and get rid of them, but nothing worked. About three days ago I found out that when you eat a high protein diet you start peeing out your minerals, calcium, magnesium, sodium, potassium, etc.... I bought some greens + bone builder at the drug store, and low and behold my calf cramps went away.

My questions:

Does anyone else have this problem ?

If primal is the ultimate diet, then what the heck am I doing wrong, I should not need supplements if this diet is good, and would Grok have had the same problem ?

I am eating lots of fruit and veg with my meals, and I have a labour intensive job, so I sweat lots. I also hope this diet will not weaken my bones, it won't will it ?

Unless I get some good motivation to stick with this diet I am going to be highly motivated to Weston A Price my meals more and eat 'gasp' soaked grains.

I believe you are one of the few primal eaters who doesn't take supplements. The food we consume today is not nearly as robust/dense in nutrients. We are in a very clean world, eating less dirt (where many minerals come from).

Search the forum for supplement discussions.

Read the book, Primal Blueprint.

Read Protein Power Lifeplan.

Lots of fodder for wife supplementing.
    Last edited by say_rahhh; 07-29-2010, 08:17 PM. Reason: HAHAHA. That was supposed to be WISE supplementing. But it's funny so I left it.
    Because if you didn't know, of that is life made: only of moments; Don't lose the now.
    ~Borges

Comment

I dont supplement wifes but I do take D3 and a really good multi-vitamin, or at least I think its really good, might be crap :B