Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to shut up the sugar monster

Hello all,

I am having some serious sugar cravings / withdrawals. I am very new to BP and am on day 5 of going paleo. I only eat meat, veg (not the starchy type, ie not potatoes, etc) and fruit. I have a shocking sweet tooth and my only vice (which I am desperate to give up) is diet cola. I think the cravings are probably more a withdrawal from no sugar. I am sticking to my guns and not budging but the cravings are shocking.

Does any one have some advise for this newbie please.

Look forward to reading your gems of knowledge.

Thank you

xxxx

Eventually it subsides. If you can muck through the moments and not give in, they'll eventually go away.

When I was having a craving I'd eat something salty/spicy... pickled eggs sometimes did it, or fried eggs, with mustard or hot sauce. Seems like I always turned to eggs- lol. After having a couple eggs I wasn't very willing to eat more. That was just my strategy for dealing with it. Sometimes the cravings won, but the longer you go, the easier it gets.

Comment

^^ yep, what she said.

If you are still having the diet soda, give that up ASAP...it can lead to increased sugar cravings. Even though there's no sugar in the drink, your body thinks there is. Some folks will even release insulin in response to diet soda.
      Heather and the hounds - Make a Fast Friend, Adopt a Greyhound!

Comment

Originally posted by kennelmom View Post
        ^^ yep, what she said.

If you are still having the diet soda, give that up ASAP...it can lead to increased sugar cravings. Even though there's no sugar in the drink, your body thinks there is. Some folks will even release insulin in response to diet soda.
        Totally agree!
        Mama to 4, wife to my love

Comment

Eat steak, and bacon.

At the same time.

Comment