Question About Coconut Milk?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question About Coconut Milk?

I've never used coconut milk before. What is the consistency supposed to be like? I opened a can yesterday and it was a little chunky. It smelled like coconuts so no sour or spoiled smell but wasn't sure if it was supposed to be liquidy like regular milk or really creamy with chunks.

I bet the chunkiness you saw was the cream that floats to the top of the can of coconut milk. I find that shaking the can before opening and then giving it i a quick stir after opening helps.

Comment

It is thick but it can separate a bit (giving you those chunks) so give it a good shake.

Comment

Thank you both. I was worried that it might be bad.

Comment

If you put it in the refrigerator before opening, all the solids will rise to the top and form a delicious creamy substance, however the water will be at the bottom and that's not very pleasant. For this reason I store all my cans at room temperature and shake them well before opening.
          .`.><((((> .`.><((((>.`.><((((>.`.><(( ((>
          ><((((> .`.><((((>.`.><((((>.`.><(( ((>

Comment

@rphlslv, before we started using tropical traditions (we get our coconut oil & cream from them) thats how we got our "cream"!

Comment

Originally posted by Namasteak View Post
              @rphlslv, before we started using tropical traditions (we get our coconut oil & cream from them) thats how we got our "cream"!
              Freaking delicious man!! I wish the whole can was like that.

Comment

Originally posted by Namasteak View Post
                I bet the chunkiness you saw was the cream that floats to the top of the can of coconut milk. I find that shaking the can before opening and then giving it i a quick stir after opening helps.
                I feel like a dumbass... I was always annoyed that the creaminess was at the top and the water was at the bottom. I never thought of shaking it... thanks!!!!!