Plyoboxes...

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Plyoboxes...

Anyone know of a good source for them? I seriously need to improve my box jumps, as they are my biggest problem in crossfit. I kind of want to just make one.... but I'm not so handy in the carpentry department.

So, what I'd like to know is, anyone know of a cheap source (i've checked Rogue and Again faster...too expensive!)
    OR
    Does anyone know what would have to go in to making a 24" wooden box. SEEMS to me like it would be easy...but again, I'm no expert.

Thanks...
    Check out my blog: ANTHROfit

did you google homemade? its real easy and cheep that way. used to make "fun boxes" out of 2/4s and plywood back when i skateboarded, and those lasted years going through more wear than you would use for plyos.
    just make sure your base is big enough to prevent tipping, and the rest is just a prefference of design. tappered? boxed? rectangular?
    my photo stream
    The Enlightened Warrior

Comment

there's a crossfit site somewhere that has blueprints for plyo boxes
      I didn't like the rules you gave me, so I made some of my own.

Strong people are harder to kill than weak people, and more useful in general. - Mark Rippetoe

Comment

We've used these before:

http://library.crossfit.com/free/pdf...plyo_boxes.pdf
        Sandbag Training For MMA & Combat Sports
        Sandbag Training Guide on Kindle
        The Complete Guide To Sandbag Training
        Brute Force Sandbags
        www.facebook.com/sandbagfitness
        http://fitedia.com/ - Health and Fitness eBooks, video, audio and workshops

Comment

And I also use these from time to time:

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_o-7tqRbez_...0/IMG_6648.JPG
          Sandbag Training For MMA & Combat Sports
          Sandbag Training Guide on Kindle
          The Complete Guide To Sandbag Training
          Brute Force Sandbags
          www.facebook.com/sandbagfitness