Trouble spots - size and strength

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trouble spots - size and strength

I've been eating paleo/primal for almost 4 years now, and have had great success with the lifestyle. I'm 33, male, feel 23. 5'10" 175 to 180 lbs with wide structure.

I was working out on and off for the first 3 years, and the past year I've been more dedicated to intense workouts;

WO one;

- 3sets of chins/pulls
    - Weighted lunges
    - Bar dips

WO two;

- Push-up variations (Atlas, width variation, incline, decline, raised grips) with weight bag. I'm up to 50lbs 3X6
    - Shoulder press
    - Sprints twice a week

I typically rest 2 to 3 days between workouts and working on getting better sleep (dark room, no fluids 2 hours before, 7 hours min).

I've gained strength and size all over. Legs significantly bigger, arms shoulders bigger. This to me indicates that I am eating plenty of food (I eat a bit too much and have a layer of fat at the moment from bulking up)

However, my chest won't grow or change. No matter what I try I can't seem to get a bigger chest to go with the rest. I've gotten stronger with pushups (from no weight bag to 50 lbs) and I use the chest and not the arms to push.

Any suggestions for a trouble spot like my chest? I'm starting a very strict workout/diet plan from here to January with goals of gaining more upper body strength and size. I'll start leaning out mid winter I suppose.

In summary; gains everywhere but chest. Consistently increasing chest weight the last 6 months but no size build-up. Biggest trouble spot being upper chest.

J

Trouble with working chest is that the shoulders and Triceps often take over. Have a read of this article, it might be of some help:

The Best Pectoral Exercise | Doug Brignole - Exercise and Biomechanics

Comment