Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Not Making Many Gains, Options?

Hello everyone,

My goal is to become as healthy as I can possibly be. Im 42, somewhere around 70kg and carrying a little extra fat around the middle.

I've been lifting heavy for a couple of months and seem to have reached my max weights. Roughly the same as when I was lifting a couple of years back:
    • Press: 30kg (3x5)
    • Chest Press: 40kg (3x5)
    • Deadlift: 70kg x 5
    • I dont currently do heavy squats as I dont have a rack (got one on order though!)

I seem to have stopped making gains. This is not necessarily a bad thing (or is it?) but I dont know what to do now?

Do I keep doing this stuff at the weights I can lift and increase reps until i can add a little more weight? Do I start eating a ton? (remember, my goal is not size, it's health) or do i stop lifting and do bodyweight stuff for a while? Or work on other big exercises like chin-ups, one arm rows, lunges etc for a while?

Some expert advise would be really appreciated.

Many thanks,

What program are you following? Perhaps take a look at a program with a slower increase?

Comment

If your goal is health just lifting at an intensity that is "hard" for you is enough to keep you metabolically fit and to stress your various systems in a manner that will generally promote health.

Comment

You need a different program. It's clear you've gone as far as you can go with this one, since it seems you've maxed it out twice at this level. Are you male?

Comment

Hi Katherine, thanks for answering. Yes I'm male.

Thanks Neckhammer, Teach, Im not really doing a program as such. Just deads, cpress, press and light squats and chin-ups
          Last edited by Chorlton; 05-10-2013, 01:32 PM.

Comment

You're ready for a program. I bench more than you do.

Comment

I bench more than you do.
              Well done.

Comment