No announcement yet.

What does lifting heavy mean??? (Woman)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What does lifting heavy mean??? (Woman)

I have been lifting for several months and am reasonably strong. I started with P90x a year ago, and since have continued on my own- 2-3 days/week. I do about 10-12 reps depending on the exercises (like shoulder presses, lat pul downs, chest press etc), except for things like push ups (can do 30-35) and pull ups (can do 1-2).
    Is this lifting heavy?? I keep reading that we all should lift heavy things, and I don't know what this means.

How many reps should I be doing? Do I need to increase my weights so I reach failure at 2 reps? 5 reps? Also, are there certain exercises that are optimal and others that are not? Anyone have a good female lifting routine they can share?

When people talk about "lifting heavy", they are generally speaking about using free weights, ie, a barbell and plates. And they mean the basic exercises, which are bench press, shoulder press, squat, and deadlift.

There really is no conversion between using machines to do isolation exercises and basic powerlifting exercises. They are entirely different.

A woman who was starting with this might start with an empty bar, because that would be all the weight she could handle at that point, and for her it would qualify as "heavy". In comparison with other serious lifters, a woman who "lifts heavy" might bench press her own weight, squat 1.5 times her weight, and dead lift 2 times her weight.

Comment

Indeed, if it's all you can manage within a reasonable rep range (your 10-12 sound not bad, lower would be more intense and give better results) then it's 'heavy'
      Last edited by Greenbeast; 04-25-2013, 07:51 AM.

Comment

Originally posted by Greenbeast View Post
        Indeed, if it's all you can manage within a reasonable rep range (your 10-12 sound not bad, lower would be more intense and give better results) then it's 'heavy'