Help me get back into exercise!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help me get back into exercise!

I've been neglecting my exercise routine for a few months, and I'm getting very deconditioned. The routine in question involved a kettlebell and a Shovelglove (8-lb. sledgehammer), as well as some yoga. I'd like to get back into it, but I'm worried about hurting myself - when I tried some kettlebell swings, I immediately got a bit of a twinge in my shoulder, and the Shovelglove exercises (even only a few reps) got my hands really sore. What should I do to get back into my routine safely? (I don't have any other gym equipment other than the kettlebell and the sledgehammer, and I can't afford a gym membership right now)

For what it's worth, my right hand is somewhat weak due to nerve damage, and since I play the piano, I am very paranoid about hands/fingers/wrists. I really don't want to hurt something, but I don't want to become fused to my couch either. Halp?

Stretch and warm up. Just enough to get the blood pumping. Body weight workouts can build amazing physiques. If you continue having an unusual amount of pain then see a doctor.
    My Blog -----> Two Bar Garage

Comment

+1 on the bodyweight exeercises...I used kbells 3-4 times a week since I had SLAP surgery on my right shoulder 2 years ago. Are you doing 1 or 2 handed swings?
      Free your mind, and your Grok will follow!

Comment

Once you have your shoulders warmed up you should be able to manage swings as they are more of a posterior chain exercise....the shoulders should only be acting as a hinge.
        Go hard on the body weight exercises.
        Eating primal is not a diet, it is a way of life.
        PS
        Don't forget to play!

Comment

Primal Blueprint Fitness | Mark's Daily Apple

Start very slow, forget the kettlebells for at least 6 months. Get clearance from your doctor and stick at it for 3-4 months minimum.
          Live. Grow. Flourish.