Somebody Tell Me I'm Not Dying ;)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Somebody Tell Me I'm Not Dying ;)

I am on day two of 100% primal eating. I've been preparing for this and actually looking forward to it, but oh my, I was not prepared to feel this terrible! How long does this "carb flu" last?

I have been dabbling in primal recipes and exercises for the last 6 months, but still eating whatever I wanted even though I shouldn't. Currently, I am 25 years old, 5'6" and I weigh 243 lbs. I have PCOS, I am insulin resistant and pre-diabetic. I know that if I don't change, I'm going to be unhealthy and probably cause some permanent damage. I've tried a SAD diet and a vegetarian diet. Neither worked, both sucked.

Wish me luck! I look forward to being an active member of this board and cannot wait to post my before/afters in time.

The 'flu' lasted three days for me and three weeks for my wife. Stick it out. It'll be worth it.

Comment

When I went drastically low carb (20g on Atkins - from about 300 a day previously, back in 2005) I had a 3 day migraine - it was absolutely dreadful. But doing Atkins made me aware I was highly gluten intolerant and that had been the cause of my migraines (2-3 a week all my life), dermatitis, depression, sore feet, and stomach upsets. Since Sept 2005 I have not had ONE migraine - it is like being released from prison. So do persist - it WILL be worth it in the end.
      Last edited by Analog6; 01-02-2012, 05:32 PM.
      Odille
      F 58 / 170cms / SW 131.5 kgs / Current 112.4/ GW 65
      following Primal Lifestyle and swimming my way to health

My Primal Blog / Photo Blog / RedBubble shop / My Calendars / My Facebook

Comment

I'm new too, but I never had the "carb flu" -- I think because I took a couple of months and very slowly reduced my carb count to about 50 - 80 a day. Stay strong! Primal is completely worth it.

Comment