Can we eat anything we want?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can we eat anything we want?

I am new to PB and this site and my 15 year old daughter has been very interested as well. She asked me this morning "Dad, Does it matter what we eat as long as we do not go over the amount of calories, carbs ans sugars we should have for one day?"

I know the answer is yes but can someone help me with why? She shoots for 1800 calories/day, no more than 150 carbs and 40 to 50 sugars max. She is 15, 5' 4" and weighs 130lbs. She is very athletic, plays on a club and high school softball team but is a typical freshman in high school and how she looks and feels is becoming more important. I appreciate any help! THANK YOU!

Tell her that macronutrient ratios do not matter as long as she is eating whole, natural foods according to her appetite. So she can have several pieces of fruit if she wants, but things like Quaker chocolate granola bars, not so much.

edit: Probably the less said the better. Teenagers are terrible with this kind of thing as body image and social pressures collide and make things all confusing. Just look how mixed up our own 14 year old "Gadsie" is.
    You lousy kids! Get off my savannah!

Comment

It also the difference between long term health in all aspects and short term weight management which is all teens care about
      www.beatingorthorexia.co.uk

No more diets. No more stress. Health made easy. Living made incredible.

Comment

Nothing is more important the feeding her body all the nutrients it needs to be healthy. Calories matter a whole lot less when you are giving your body all the macro and micro nutrients required. Then her body will naturally tell her to stop eating.
        Using low lectin/nightshade free primal to control autoimmune arthritis. (And lost 50 lbs along the way )

http://www.krispin.com/lectin.html

Comment

Originally posted by Grumpy Caveman View Post